Rocker John Doe Reaches Way Back

Some of his new material grew out of fondly remembered songs from his childhood, such that the sagebrush saga of “Sierra Peaks” became the strange milieu of “The Cowboy and the Hot Air Balloon.” 

He also did a couple of direct covers, plying his surprisingly strong and supple voice to things as divergent as Merle Haggard’s “Silver Wings” to, most unexpectedly, “I Only Have Eyes for You,” a tune from the 30s best known from its recording by the Flamingos in 1958.

So true to the tune was he that his bandmates added the “ShooBop ShooBop” from that old single.

Doe wrote and recorded the new album near his Austin home with bassist Kevin Smith, off the road from his usual touring with Willie Nelson because of the lockdowns, and drummer Conrad Choucroun. But as Smith was unable to join this tour (literally on the road again with Willie), Chris Crepps, who played in Dale Watson’s band, handles the standup bass.

Together the trio is able to create a natural, spacious sound, where the bass and drums help expand the melody such that Doe doesn’t have to carry the burden with guitar.

In his songs, Doe excels in creating a bleak scenario where “Twin Brother” about kids in poverty, was paired with the impending loneliness of the near-seasonal “4th of July.” His bilingual tale of a fast talking con man who calls himself  “El Romance-o” was followed by a song he used to play with Harry Dean Stanton that came entirely in Spanish, “Canción mixteca,” which Stanton sang on the soundtrack to Wim Wenders’ classic 1984 movie Paris, Texas.

Doe was a little hesitant at how he handled the language, but a barmaid assured him after the show that his Spanish was OK.

Doe went through the motions of asking for requests, even though his band had only rehearsed so many songs. One thing he knew he’d hear being requested, though, was all ready when it closed the main set: His enduring love song “Golden State,” the story of two people inexorably connected for good or ill: “You are something in my eye / And I am the shiver down your spine.”

He ended his encore with his own gospel-charged “Get on Board,” that provided some uplift as well as some gassing himself up for what looks to be a pretty satisfying  tour. 

The setlist for John Doe was:

  • “The Losing Kind”
  • “Never Coming Back”
  • “Burning House of Love”
  • “Sweetheart”
  • “El Romance-o”
  • “Canción mixteca”
  • “Love Shack”
  • “Traveling So Hard”
  • “Poor Girl”
  • “Twin Brother”
  • “4th of July”
  • “The Cowboy and the Hot Air Balloon”
  • “I Only Have Eyes for You”
  • “Silver Wings”
  • “The New World”
  • “The Golden State”
This entry was posted in Music, Review. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.